Computer Science:

Computer Science. Dept
Computer Lab

Welcome to the Computer Science Department, where the passion for learning, teaching and research is our watch word. Computer Science Department is under the School of Sciences. The department has designed a series of distinctive diplomats courses to produce innovative graduates of high caliber. Computer Science programme is taught by academic staff who are dynamic, experienced and caring. The academic programs are constantly updated to reflect the rapidly dynamic nature of ICT technologies for our graduates to be prime innovators of ideas, solution provider, catalyst of change in computing world and enablers of effective solutions that impact on the individual and society at large. Computer Science Department was established in January 2015 after meeting the requirements for establishing a new programme in accordance with National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) guidelines. The academic activities of the department started on October 5th, 2015. Through the onerous efforts of the department staff, the department produces qualitative graduates who can compete for employment opportunities anywhere.


The entry requirements into National Diploma (ND) Computer Science programme are:
  1. Five(5) "O" Level credits to include English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and one of the subjects drawn from physical sciences(Biology, Agricultural Science, Further Mathematics etc.) not more than two sittings./

    Candidate should also have a satisfactory score in JAMB UTME.

  2. National Technical Certificate (NTC) with credits passes in English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and one of the subjects drawn from vocational courses (Technical Engineering Drawing, Metal Work, General Wood work etc.) Candidate should also have a satisfactory score in JAMB UTME.


Head of Department

The Department is headed by Mr. Ajayi Ebenezer Akinyemi (Computer Security Expert) the pioneer Head of Department and Dean, School of Sciences, who is a senior lecturer with over 15 years post qualification experience in the industry and the general academia. His qualifications are: National Diploma (ND) in Computer Studies,1997, Higher National Diploma (HND) in Computer Science,2002, Postgraduate Diploma (PGD) in Computer Science,2008 and Master of Technology (M.Tech) in Computer Science,2014. He is currently undergoing Ph.D program in the Department of Computer Science, Federal University of Technology, Akure Ondo State. He is a registered member of Computer Professional Council of Nigeria (CPN), Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), Information Technology and System Security Professionals (ITSSP), Academia in Information Technology and Nigeria Information Technology. He is the current the National Secretary of Academia in Information Technology and National Deputy President of Nigeria Information Technology Professional in Civil and Public Service (NITPCS). He represents Nigeria at Technical Committee in Communications System of International Federation of Information Processing (ifip).

Other Key officers in the Department

1. Salihu Alhassan Examination Officer
2. Shamsu Sani Project Coordinator
3. Sadiq Abubakar Zagga Seminar Coordinator
4. Sulaiman Umar S.Noma SIWES Coordinator
5. Ajayi Olugbenga Akinbola Laboratory Coordinator
6. Nasiru Muhammad Dakingari Admin Officer


Quick Links

Contact Details

Kebbi State


Follow us on: